Leicester City striker, Jamie Vardy has been named the Football writers’ Association Footballer of the Year. The prolific English striker won with due to a vote of 36 percent as entered by 290 journalists. The player won the award ahead of team mates, Riyad Mahrez and N’Golo Kante.

The 29-year old striker has scored 22 premier league goals this season including netting in a league record 11 games in a row. Leicester City need just two points to ensure they lift the trophy if their closest rival, Tottenham lose to Chelsea on Monday.

Leicester City forward, Riyad Mahrez already won the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year award last month after beating all shortlisted candidates that included top EPL goal scorer, Harry Kane, Teammates, Vardy and Kante amongst others.

The last time two different players won the two awards from the same team was in 2004-2005 season where John Terry (PFA) and Frank Lampard (FWA) were winners. Jamie Vardy will return from a two game ban in the encounter against Everton on Saturday May 7, 2016 at home. He was sent off for diving against West Ham and accepting a charge of improper conduct for verbally abusing referee Jon Moss.

Currently, team mate, Drinkwater is suspended for the Everton game following his picking two yellow cards in the 1 – 1 draw against The Red Devils on Sunday.

The Football Association would not be taking further action against the player even though he was reported to have abused referee Michael Oliver before walking off the pitch in anger. He was earlier reported to possibly face further action after being sent off in the 87th minute. The team would earnestly await the results from Monday’s encounter between Spurs and Chelsea to know if their victory would come before the Everton game.

Posted in Uncategorized